The state of Arkansas is changing its laws that define “classic cars” as vehicles 25 years old or older; to those 45 years old or older, according to The Drive, and it’s frustrating to owners of those modern classics no longer eligible for the state’s cheaper historic-vehicle tags.

In Arkansas, a classic car tag for your license plate costs only US$7 and exempts owners from renewal fees and additional taxes.

But the legislative redefiniton pretty much kills any hope of younger enthusiasts with cars built after 1974 from getting them.

The change is likely intended to prevent owners from daily-driving classic cars simply as a means of saving money—but doesn’t moving the markers just mean those looking to spend less on registration fees will just have to daily even older, less-safe vehicles? We think so.

But Arkansas also thought of that, and now requires anybody that owns a classic car to have a regularly-insured daily driver, too.

“I wanted to make it more fair and equitable. We all pay registration, we all are required to have insurance on our car and we register every year,” said Arkansas State Representative Jack Fortner, who sponsored the change in the bill.

“This is the only tag in the state of Arkansas that is not renewed.”

This bill is pretty short-sighted, to say the least: what about contemporary classics like the Lamborghini Countach, and even something like the humble BMW 2002, which saw production until the late ’70s?

There are also plenty of great cars from the 1980s and 1990s that will now be forced to wear regular plates, and perhaps also be restricted from being underwritten by a classic car insurance policy.

“I’m trying to protect the integrity of the hobby. I’m not trying to limit anybody,” Fortner says. But that’s exactly what he’s doing: limiting the hobby to elitists who believe only cars built before 1974 are worthy of the true enthusiast.

Source: Driving

March 14, 2019