Bad news. Good news, Noah Gragson.

The trophy girl rejected the kiss, but the Tom Dawson Trophy for winning the Snowball Derby is the only smooch the best short track drivers who travel south to Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, Florida each December truly want.

The 20-year-old NASCAR regular held off Ty Majeski on a restart in the Late Model race with six laps to go on Sunday to deliver back-to-back Snowball Derby victories for Kyle Busch Motorsports in his final start for the team before he joins JR Motorsports in the Xfinity Series next season.

The boss - Kyle Busch -- won the Snowball Derby for a second time in 2017.

But the victory was not without some degree of good fortune as Gragson needed a caution for his strategy to work itself out. That occurred when Kyle Bryant spun in turn 3 with 20 laps to go.

Pole-sitter Harrison Burton had just taken the lead from Ty Majeski before the previous caution but had used up his final set of tires to get there. Had the race stayed green, Burton most likely continues pulling away and wins the race.

But with the caution, Gragson and several other leaders hit pit road. Gragson came in third and left first amongst those who came down pit road. He would restart next to Burton on two different restarts and beat him both times.

As a result, Gragson won the Snowball Derby, the fourth for KBM behind the two for Busch and Erik Jones.

The results are barring technical inspection and this post will be updated when results are official.

2018 Snowball Derby

Unofficial Results

  1. Noah Gragson
  2. Ty Majeski
  3. Jeff Choquette
  4. Connor Okrzesik
  5. Casey Roderick
  6. Chandler Smith
  7. Donnie Wilson
  8. Tyler Ankrum
  9. Cole Butcher
  10. Harrison Burton
  11. Jeremy Doss
  12. Derek Thorn
  13. John DeAngelis Jr
  14. Chase Purdy
  15. Jesse Dutilly
  16. Derek Kraus
  17. Jack Dossey III
  18. Kyle Plott
  19. Spencer Davis
  20. Logan Boyett
  21. Paul Shafer Jr
  22. Derek Griffith
  23. Dennis Prunty
  24. Kyle Bryant
  25. Raphael Lessard
  26. Bubba Pollard
  27. Stephen Nasse
  28. Michael Atwell
  29. Corey Heim
  30. Kaden Honeycutt
  31. Chris Davidson
  32. Preston Peltier
  33. Perry Patino
  34. Stewart Friesen
  35. Carson Hocevar
  36. Austin Nason

Source: Autoweek

December 2, 2018